Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
a catholic democracy

2005-04-14 - 10:41 p.m.

The Washington Nationals played at home for the first time tonight. I didn't have a hat to show my support because I refuse to buy the official cap with the big W on it. I'm holding out until I can find one with the DC on it. Apparently they're rare. Sometimes I'm petty like that.

They also don't make Nat jerseys in size small. We really are becoming an obese nation if we look at a product that is practically walking itself off the shelves and say, "eh, we really don't need the small ones do we?"

But on to the title of this entry.

There's been a lot of talk about the Catholic Church lately, what with the Pope kicking it and all. There's also been a Republican push to highlight the beliefs W and JP had in common. Then someone usually mutters *cough*death penalty*cough*. But I haven't seen anyone point out that Bush has been Mr. Democracy lately while the Catholic Church is incredibly undemocratic. It's also big government on steroids. And yet the two are the week's hotest bed fellows.

If I had more time I'd do a detailed comparison of DC vs. Vatican City. But, I mean, Vatican fucking City. God passed all of his laws centuries ago and they all fit in one book. That doesn't even require a bookcase let alone a whole city.

I'm not even going to go into their deep love of taxing.

And the guy who runs this gigantic waste of gilded real estate doesn't even get elected. Could you imagine if the world wide Catholic population got to vote on who's Pope? Could you imagine running a campaign for Pope? All Americans would be out right quick, because, you know, mud slinging and the title Holy Father aren't exactly synergistic.

So when are we going to invade Vatican City and force Catholics to finally throw off the shackles and embrace democracy?

It'll never happen, I know. I mean, how can you overthrow a magic wielding overlord?

Say what?

Apparently over 80% of people polled believe that old John Paul should be made a saint. Now, it's been a good while since CCD, but don't you need to perform at least three miracles to become a saint? Did I miss JP's miracles? But then the gate keepers of the after life never seem to have trouble digging up a few miracles when they want to make a saint. I mean Mother Teresa was barely even cold when the Vatican said, "Oh hey! We found two miracles already! She's so in!"

"Hey, remember that time John Paul turned my water into wine? Oh I never told you that story? It must have just slipped my mind. He was totally pulling stunts like that all the time, so we were like always wasted. That's why I forgot to tell you earlier."

previous - next

leave a note

profile - others - recommend - diaryland